Bluebeards Castle

Art Awards

46th Annual Art Awards sponsored by the Arts Council

Every year, the Wichita Arts Council recognizes 10 Wichita individuals, cultural organizations and businesses for their work to further the growth and development of arts in the Wichita area. This year’s Art Awards will be held on Sunday, October 4 in Century II Convention Hall.

This year’s Art Awards will be an entirely new experience, with the event centered around film, video and live entertainment like we’ve never seen before. The event kicks off at 4 PM with a reception, followed by dinner at 4:45 and the presentation at 5:30. At 6:30 the Conventional Hall will open to the general public for “After Dark Art Performances.”

Tickets are available now for the Art Awards. Tickets are $60 per person, which includes the reception, dinner and table seating for the general admission show. Reserved tables for 10 are $750 and include complimentary wine. General admission tickets to “After Dark Art Performances” are $10 per person. Get your tickets now at

2015 Art Award Recipients:

  • Gordon W. Evans Award presented by Westar Energy: Martie Walker
    Given to a patron demonstrating outstanding leadership and special support for the arts.
  • Arts Organization: Ballet Wichita
    Given to a public, not-for-profit organization that presents or provides arts opportunities to the Wichita community and region.
  • Special Project: Wichita Symphony Orchestra, “Bluebeard’s Castle”
    Given to a neighborhood, business, corporation or group that has provided support for a single event or project.
  • Arts Educator: Ted Krone
    Given to an individual who has devoted a career to teaching the arts in an educational environment.
  • Arts Advocate/Individual: Donna Perline
    Given to an individual or couple dedicated to furthering the cause of an art form or the arts in general through promotional, volunteer, administrative, legislative or professional efforts.
  • Arts Advocate Group or Business: Simon McHugh, McHugh Violin 
    Given to an organization or business dedicated to furthering the cause of an art form or the arts in general through promotional, volunteer, administrative, legislative or professional efforts.
  • Individual Artist: Larry Schwarm
    Given to an artist actively working in such categories as choreography, music composition, film/video, theatre, interdisciplinary/performance art, two-dimensional visual art and/or three-dimensional visual art, who has shown outstanding achievement.
  • Youth Recognition Award: Brendan Whalen
    Given to a high school or middle school student who has shown outstanding achievement and development in the arts.
  • Burton Pell Award: Samuel Ramey
    Given to an outstanding individual in music in memory of Mr. Pell, a longtime member and past president of the Arts Council.
  • Individual Special Recognition Award: In Memory of Tanya Tandoc
    Given at the discretion of the Arts Council for an individual’s outstanding contribution to the arts.

“After Dark Art Performances”

This variety show will feature local performers and organizations. You don’t have to attend the Art Awards to attend “After Dark Art Performances,” and general admission tickets are only $10. Come check out performances by:

  • Wichita folk singer and songwriter Nikki Moddelmog
  • Music Theatre Wichita
  • Tallgrass Film Association
  • ARISE Ensemble
  • Opera Kansas
  • Jazz and tap dancing by students and teachers in the Wichita State University School or Performing Arts Dance Program
  • Youth groups from USD 259